Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Weekly Prompt No. 21: Focus On A Single Subject

Save yourself the headache of trying to figure out what to put in your nature journal by focusing on a single subject over a period of time.

Hiya!

I filmed a little timelapse from some work I did on Wednesday during the Wild Wonder Nature Journaling Conference. If you missed it this year, plan on attending next year (although I think you can still buy tickets – at least for the video replays).

I used to have a flock of chickens almost 12 years ago, and illustrating them in my journal had me waxing nostalgic over them!

This week’s prompt…

highlights something I wrote in this month’s theme post.

Choose one subject to study over as many sessions as you want. It saves some time because you already have your subject, and if it’s already at your sit spot (*hint*), well then, huzzah! Make it really easy for yourself and focus on one thing that you have easy access to. Peruse the Prompt archive for journaling ideas and apply them to your one subject.

I do this a lot. It’s a fun way to learn a lot about a single species of bird or fern or tree, whatever captures your interest. It eliminates the barrier of trying to figure out what you are going to journal about each session. You can also have fun with it and turn your journal pages into a subject-specific zine or accordion book.

Give it a try, and share if you feel like it in the chat.

Some changes are coming to Cricklewood

I’ve decided to switch things around to make room for fun activities we can do together. Now that I feel a little more comfortable with the tools on this platform, I’d like to provide a weekly “draw with me” style video. It will be subject-driven, and include a how-to demo for free subscribers and a “draw/nature journal with me” pre-recorded video with downloadable reference photos and/or handouts for paid readers.

The monthly theme and prompt on the first Friday of the month will continue in the same format, but the subsequent Friday prompts will be dedicated to nature journaling demos. I’m striving for a convivial vibe, as if we just got back to my studio together after a hike and we’ve opened up our journals, pulled out our supplies, and started working.

On the second through fourth Fridays in place of the prompt post, I will publish a demo and “draw with me” style video. These will not be timelapse videos. You’ll see me work and hear me talk in real-time.

It’s important to me that content on Cricklewood is accessible to everyone interested in nature and nature journaling, however, this Substack provides a portion of my income (there, I said it!) so I’ve come up with this split plan that I hope works for everyone. If you would like to support Cricklewood with a paid subscription I’m very grateful and honored. If the free subscription suits you better at the moment, I’m so happy you’re here to enjoy journaling with me!

This is an experiment, so I’ll circle back in a couple of months to see if you are getting what you need from these posts.

So look for the new demo/DWM next Friday!

xoSusannah

Discussion about this video

Cricklewood Nature Journal
Cricklewood Nature Journal
Authors
Susannah Fisher