Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Draw With Me No. 1: Canadian Geese

A 5-minute how-to draw tutorial for free subscribers and a 55-minute draw with me style video with reference photos for paid readers

Hiya!

I do not know why the Autumnal Equinox has me so excited. Maybe it's because it means autumn has officially begun in the northern hemisphere. Or perhaps it has to do more with October being on our doorstep. It is, after all, one of my favorite months of the year.

What is really exciting is the migrating Canadian Geese overhead. I hear them early each morning and late each evening calling to each other as they make their way south for the winter. I silently farewell them with a wish for a safe journey, and look forward to their return next spring.

You can read more about the Canada Goose here.

They have inspired our first Draw To Learn video. I have a quick tutorial about shading for everyone plus paid readers also enjoy the draw-with-me style video with short warm-up sketches and a more extended drawing session. Any skill level and media is appropriate to use.

Now just a quick word about the video. I’m still very much a beginner when it comes to video, and I’m still trying to find “my style” of video storytelling, so excuse this for not being very slick. I’ll eventually get the hang of it, which will be more fun for all of us, right? lol

Time Stamp

  • 00:00: Shading Tutorial (all subscribers)

  • 05:44: Marking making warm-up (paid readers)

  • 9:44: 5-minute sketches (2) (paid readers)

  • 19:15: 40-minute drawing (paid readers)

And don’t forget – I’m live for one hour in the Chat tonight at 8 pm Eastern Time (US).

Chat With Me At 8pm ET

xoSusannah

P.S. Download the images below to draw with me during the video.

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Cricklewood Nature Journal to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Cricklewood Nature Journal
Nature Journal Videos
Pre-recorded videos and recorded live sessions for paid subscribers where you and I draw from nature-inspired reference photos together!
Free subscribers can view a 5-minute quick-tip excerpt.
Authors
Susannah Fisher